Goodbye 2015

Well 2015 happened. There have been many beautiful highs with some of the most amazing people I could ever wish to work with – I’m really proud of the shows I’ve lit or worked on this year and it’s been a joy working with all of my theatre family in the South West (you know who you are – love you all!).

 

To my amazing Theatre Bath team who keep on achieving so many brilliant things (you ladies are amazing!) and the support of the wider theatre community has once again amazed me and gives me a warm fuzzy feeling.

 

There have also been some devastating lows and I’ve seen friends and family go through things I wouldn’t wish on anybody but go through them they did and all of them have come out the other side slightly scarred but stronger for it – the amazing show of support from friends has been really heartwarming and seeing the wide net of support out there and people looking after each other is lush.

 

The one thing I’m gonna take from this year. Life is short. Live it. Enjoy it. Keep your sense of humour (that’s key). You don’t know how long you’ve got with people so let them know that you care. If you love someone tell them even if it doesn’t work out at least you tried and won’t have any regrets. I apologise if I’ve been short with anyone but my head just hasn’t had the capacity to deal with everything that’s been happening the last few years. As I write this my dad is once more in hospital (he’s ok, well he’s stable anyway). He’s been in and out so much this year we’re considering buying a bed up there. 😁 His COPD (chronic lung disease) is now at the final stages and he has problems with his heart and that’s a tough thing to deal with but you just have to pick yourself up and carry on – there is no choice. Take each day as it comes. You don’t know what life is going to chuck at you but I do know I have the strength to meet it head on and support of some amazing people in my life and for that I feel truly blessed – so thank you!

 

So no resolutions for next year – I just intend to live. To dream big and to follow those dreams, create some magic, to carry on learning, to carry on growing as a person and not allowing anyone or anything to hold me back. To continue looking at the world as a massive playground. I’m gonna make shit happen. I may be a little crazy and a little introverted but i know who I am and I’m happy in my own skin and I can’t ask for anything more than that.

 

I hope you all have a wonderful night and that 2016 is kind to you. Love you all (even the ones that I don’t really love – yeah you know who you are).

 

“May God (or you know whoever you believe in) bless and keep you always

May your wishes all come true

May you always do for others

And let others do for you

May you build a ladder to the stars

And climb on every rung

May you stay forever young”

 

xXx

 

Leave a Reply

